Isn’t it amazing how God works to reveal a new meaning in scripture or shows a new facet of his character as you read a familiar story? This year, I grasped a clearer understanding of God’s provision in my life. I know God is a great provider and has demonstrated this time and again. However, I believe that oftentimes, what I consider to be God’s provision is actually his gift of grace. John 1:16 states, “For from his fullness we have all received, grace upon grace.” I love that expression, which indicates that God’s grace is endless.

This summer, I was offered the opportunity to lead a team to Jamaica to serve at Robin’s Nest Children’s Home where my son, Christopher Hewitt, and his wife, Cheran, serve as executive directors. Since I love to plan, I started working on the itinerary, selecting a team, and piecing together our goals. During this time, I was praying and asking for God’s guidance in making decisions. But was I totally relying on God’s grace to equip me for this mission trip, or was I simply working hard to accomplish the tasks at hand?

I hit a roadblock when I was told that I needed surgery. This did not fit into my neat plan. I had to fully turn to God for guidance and direction. Ephesians 2:8-9 explains it this way, “For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of works, so that no one may boast. For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.” This trip to serve in Jamaica was God’s “good works,” not mine. 

This revelation turned around my thinking by helping me realize I would not be able to lead this team on my own strength. My planning skills were not what God was seeking. He was asking me to totally depend on him.  Through God’s grace, I would need not only  his healing power, but his clear direction and his financial provision. A scripture came to mind from 2 Corinthians 12:9 in which Paul is seeking relief from a burden. It says, “But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’” I decided to respond as Paul did in the remainder of the verse, “Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.”

In the beginning, I had a lot of fear and doubt. I questioned whether God had really called me to serve. The truth is, my performance and my efforts were never enough to accomplish God’s plan for this trip. My job was to trust in his grace that always promises to provide what we need. 

God sent an amazing team of ladies to join me in service. He provided financially for the costs of our trip. He provided safe travel. God’s grace was evident in our team spirit. We didn’t have to work using our own strength and knowledge but trusted in his good grace.

I encourage you to cease striving and  trust in God’s gift of grace. He will equip you for the task in which he calls if you seek him. Remember, it doesn’t only have to be when you are weak. We need his grace even when we think we have it all under control.

Written by Judy Musick